The Appalachian Highlands


Appalachia is a cultural and geographical region on the east side of the United States that stretches from the southern tier of New York to Northern Alabama. 

The Appalachian Highlands are made up of the Ridge and Valley, Blue Ridge, Piedmont and Appalachian Plateau regions.

Our Cities and Counties

Johnson City, Kingsport, Unicoi, Erwin, Jonesborough, Rogersville, Morristown, Greenville, Elizabethton, Bristol, Johnson County, Sullivan County, Unicoi County and Washington County.

This project was born out of a desire to cover the issues that face our community and region, specifically the Appalachian Highlands, The Blue Ridge Mountains, and Greater Appalachia.